The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > General Acoustic Guitar Discussion

Old 12-19-2009, 09:50 AM

Default Most new guitars need to be set-up?

Hello,

To introduce myself, I am a re-entry player, after about 20 years of not playing except picking up a guitar here or there. I started playing again at the begining of this year on my electric which fortunately I've keep under the bed all these years. But I ended up playing an old acoustic my wife kept in the closet more than the electric so I went out and purchased a Yamaha ll6 which is just fantastic.

My question, the action is a bit high or at least feels that way, compared to some of the other guitars I played before purchasing the ll6. This is a noob question I'm sure, but is common to have to get a new guitar set-up regardless of the price point or does my guitar need a set-up because it is mid-tier model?

This is a great site, and it really helped in selecting a new acoustic.

alberto
Old 12-19-2009, 10:07 AM

I've seen bargain-priced guitars that were sold with nicely done setups and I've seen expensive (by my standards) guitars that were sold with atrocious setups and everywhere in between. But even if you get one with a perfectly cromulent setup from the factory or dealer there's absolutely no guarantee that it will suit your hands and your playing style. So in the end, you almost always end up tweaking it one way or another.

P.S. And welcome to the AGF, Al. Hope it's OK to call you Al, kinda like the Paul Simon song.
Old 12-19-2009, 10:16 AM
The Foreigner

Quote:
Originally Posted by Brent Hutto View Post