The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > General Acoustic Guitar Discussion

Old 01-30-2003, 10:59 PM

Default "Accidental" new Taylor owner

Hi all,

I'm a newcomer to the forum and thought you might be interested in hearing how I found myself the proud owner of a brand new Big Baby only yesterday. When I woke up yesterday morning nothing could have been further from my mind than purchasing a shiny (well not quite) new Taylor guitar but here I am.

Back in November, since I already owned a steel string, I had a case of GAS for a classical guitar (I'm a relatively new guitarist, by the way) and somewhat impulsively, I purchased a La Patrie Presentation. After playing it for some time I wanted the action raised and when I tried to have it done, the technician found the truss rod to be defective so he sent it back to Godin. La Patries are made by the same company as Seagull guitars, for those who may not know. The guitar ended up being beyond repair so just this past Monday a brand new replacement showed up at the store. Without going into great detail I'll just say that the workmanship on this guitar was unacceptable and, consequently, I refused the guitar. I could get very long winded about this point but that's not the purpose of this post, so I'll cut to the chase.

Rather than take a chance on a third La Petrie, I got credit for what I paid for the guitar and went on a quest to find a replacement. Not having a classical guitar for a while calmed my GAS for one so after playing every steel string in the store that was reasonably close in price to the La Petrie I came across the Big Baby. When the salesman told me I'd only have to shell out $20 to cover the difference in price between the two, I was sold.

What a fabulous little guitar!!! The difference in quality (sound and craftsmanship) was truly unbelievable, although everyone reading this certainly knows what I'm talking about.