The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > General Acoustic Guitar Discussion

Old 05-02-2024, 08:47 AM
Charter Member

Default Does your family make music at home?

There has probably already been a previous thread on this topic , but I couldn’t find one during a search. If you find a previous thread on this topic, posting a link to previous discussions on the same topic is a welcome addition to this thread.

Does your family make music together at home? Either the home that you grew up in, in your grown-up family with or without children?

My dad grew up in the days before TV. They did have radio, which they sometimes listen to in the evening. Sometimes, during the evening they would sing songs together, and his Mom would accompany the singing on the piano. She was self taught and played by ear, just chording along.

My dad learned to play piano as a child, he took lessons for eight years. When he was 16, he got a guitar for Christmas and learn stuff like Elvis Presley tunes and some hillbilly music.

When I was about eight years old, he rekindled his interest in playing and singing music and started playing guitar and singing for his own enjoyment for probably 30 minutes to an hour several times a week in the evening. Of course we kids and my Mom all enjoyed listening to him. Eventually, that’s why I picked up the guitar, and I would play with him. Sometimes one of my sisters would also sing along.

My wife sings and plays guitar and we’ve been “weekend warrior” musicians off and on (mostly on)ever since we were married 37 years ago. We also taught our two older sons to play guitar and they used to play with us sometime when they were teenagers. (They also picked up bass, drums and piano, had their own group and toured with a big name local band - MAE).