The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > General Acoustic Guitar Discussion

Old 02-24-2022, 02:06 PM

Default Tragic news for my one year old Martin GPC-16e rosewood

So a year ago, and very much against my will and best intuitions, I ordered a new Martin GPC16e rosewood, online.

I've been a gigging/recording guitarist for nearly 45 years now and was very, very excited about finally having a real bonified all wood Martin for some gigging and mostly for recording. It was $1699.00 at Zzounds. Going against my opinion that a guitar should never be bought sight unseen, but played in person for many hours to determine its "rightness" for me, I made the online order. This was a choice to ease the financial weight, and do monthly payments over a year.

Upon receiving the guitar I began playing it, and assessing the "rightness" of the guitar, to make sure if anything was blatantly wrong with it, that I would send it back within the 40 days or so, for another one.
The thing I noticed about this was that the high E and B string seemed to be somewhat dead. I fooled myself into believing that 1. The guitar would open up over time, 2.) Putting a thicker gauge string would improve the energy in the two higher strings. Although I may have perceived a slight improvement from upping the gauge from 12's to 12.5's, there remained an odd lack of energy on the two highest strings. Something in me said that I should return the guitar for this "issue" but, the "mature adult" in me said I should just be grateful and not be so picky.