The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > RECORD

Old 03-31-2024, 05:37 PM

Default New mics. What do you think?

I got new mics and for the first time ever in my life I relent a little on my position that stereo is silly and fraudulent. I still contend it is those things but if you can't beat 'em, join 'em. Almost all audio distribution is stereo, including podcasts, for goodness sake. So what do I do, up-mix mono to stereo? Even duplicating a single mic to both channels seems worse than using two mics so here we go.

If you have any comments, criticisms, or suggestions please go ahead because I am new to using close-mic techniques. (My untreated and rather noisy room doesn't work for distant mics.)

[NOTE: the music that interests me most as a player is free improvisation. Think of that as like free jazz but with all the jazz language removed. I know most people aren't into it and that it's a very risky activity but the reward of being able to discover music I didn't know was there before is worth it all to me.]

4K youtube https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HJwFuQ2xFQA

Embed

Old 03-31-2024, 09:33 PM
Charter Member

Stereo mic'ing is best sound on solo guitar recordings. In your recording the mikes were setup coincident XY. That IMO is the worst stereo mike setup to take advantage of using two mikes.
Experiment with spaced pair mikes and see what results you can get.

"Reality is that which when you stop believing in it, doesn't go away."

Woods hands pick by eye and ear
Made to one with pride and love
To be that we hold so dear
A voice from heavens above
Old 03-31-2024, 11:03 PM

Two things I'd toss in.. Tone's a bit on the warm side. Maybe away from the sound hole, towards the neck body junction?

Dynamics are quite wide.. as a listener. Set the volume up for the fine parts.. but that puts the guitar way up' when you kick it in.