The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > General Acoustic Guitar Discussion

Old 10-15-2019, 11:45 AM

Default Bridge pin fit out the window.

For years now I have heard how important certain traditional norms are for the proper set up and function of a guitar. I have also advocated that some of the so called traditions are based on, who knows what. For example, nut width, I find that 75% of most intermediate players are really not that familiar with varying nut widths. I for one did not even realize they varied, when I started playing until I read about it. I never had any problem going from one nut width to another. I think some are self inflicted problems. Maybe an excuse for not practicing enough.

NOW the other day I read a thread about a guy that says his bridge pins are not a proper fit for his guitar. That they are loose.
I have read countless theories about material, the angle of the taper, the tightness of the fit, etc. That all of these variables MUST be met to insure a properly set up guitar.
However the advice I read in that thread amazed my. Now all of a sudden it boils down to like one post said;"as long as the pins don't fall out when you turn the guitar upside down'.

WHAT HAPPENED TO THE SNUG FIT, AND PROPER TAPER MATCH. THAT AT ONE TIME WAS A VITAL REQUIREMENT.
I believe even Taylor told the guy;" don't sweat it. That's normal for a guitar".

You need heavy gauge strings.....
You need the proper width nut.....
The bridge pins need to be PERFECTLY matched to the taper, and snugness of the pin hole....
Laminated guitars are junk....
Neck resets have nothing to do with string tension....
Bone bridge pins are better than Plastic....

On and on and on.

Ed

Last edited by Edgar Poe; 10-15-2019 at 11:51 AM.
Old 10-15-2019, 12:09 PM