The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > General Acoustic Guitar Discussion

Old 12-03-2007, 06:31 PM

Default Need some advice on Taylors

Ok, so this is my first post and I'm a newb on this forum so forgive me if this has been asked a million times. :P After saving a good deal of cash for the past year, I've decided to move on to bigger and better things...like a new Taylor.

I play mostly rythm guitar, specifically worship type (ie Chris Tomlin, Hillsong) and once in a while lead stuff, and I'd love on advice on what possible Taylors might work best. I've tried the 414ce and I like it a lot, but being away at college with no real time and guitar store to try them out (I go to one of the service academies) I haven't had the chance to try out many models. I'll be home in about two weeks, so I will try to head out to Buffalo Brothers to try out the models there.

Currently, the 414 and 614 are the models I've tried and like (something about the GA models :P) Any suggestions on any other models, wood types, whether I should go with the limited series, or older models would be greatly appreciated!
Old 12-03-2007, 06:37 PM

Welcome, Jester!

Best bet is to hit a guitar store and try 'em out.

The GA models are great, but you should be sure to try the GS and jumbo models if any are available.
Ibanez: 1980 AW-75 (Owari Asahi), 1982 M310 Maple series, 2012 AWS1000ECE Artwood Studio (MIC)
Favilla: ~1960 C-5 classical (NYC)
Old 12-03-2007, 06:47 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chazmo View Post

The GA models are great, but you should be sure to try the GS and jumbo models if any are available.

I'd especially recommend the GS for rhythm styles.
Old 12-03-2007, 07:00 PM

Great! Will do. I have heard the GS models were good too. Anyone have experience with Buffalo Brother guitars?
Old 12-03-2007, 07:02 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by jester116 View Post