The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Classical

Old 03-17-2024, 08:49 PM

Default In search of “classical” (?) guitar

Hi, all.

Seeking your guidance on a *possible* classical guitar purchase. I chose the classical section here, since I am wanting a nylon string guitar. Apologies if this should have been in a different section.
  • Newbie. Been taking lessons for a few months. Doing very well at it, but still very much in formative stages of guitar playing.
  • Despite the newbieness, I have several guitars (Martin 000-15SM, cedar Seagull S6, Yamaha FG750S (?), MIM Player Strat. Kindly don’t ask why I have four guitars when I am still a newbie.
  • Exclusively a fingerstyle/fingerpick player.
  • In my current lessons, I am steering my instructor towards my goal of wanting to play fingerstyle acoustic blues/folk/country/Americana. My lessons are on the Martin.
  • ….BUT, on a broader spectrum, I enjoy most any sort of guitar music.
  • ….and sooooo, often I get a hankering for that nylon sound, especially when my instructor demos something on his nylon string for me that always sounds sooo good.
  • I am also looking to add variety to the sounds around the house. Right now it’s all steel-string, all the time. Often a little softer would please my family. So, I’m thinking nylon.
  • All that said, I want to get a nylon string guitar *at the very least* for the sake of variety and to add interest to my practice, *but also* because I love the sound of classical guitar (been listening to it for years) and would like to dip my toes deeply into that water to see how I feel about learning to play classical music on a nylon string guitar. I know it is a way different discipline from just pickin’ up the ol’ steel string and strumming a few cowboy cords.