The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > General Acoustic Guitar Discussion

Old 07-07-2003, 04:14 PM

Default Taylor vs. Guild can do the deal

I have been wanting/shoping Taylor since I first play one at my local GC store( 6 month ago). Initally I fell for the 314 but after palying the 414, I graduated in desire to the 414. Was about to make the plunge, but it require selling my 1973 D-40 Traditional sunburst Guild(I am the original owner). So I had to make sure.
I did some side by side comparisons and......I just could not do it.

As bad as I wanted to own a Taylor, the Guild just sounded so much better. I had the guitar set up by a pro here in town some time back, so the action is quite good, though not as good as the the 414 i must admit. But the sound is just so much better in every respect.

I guess I like the Guild sound as it better suited to my playing style- fingerpicking light strumming and I like to throw those jazz chords around.

I love the sound of those archtop hollowbody jazz guitars.

On my last visit to make sure I was doing the right thing, I picked up a 514. Now, there is a guitar. But alas the Guild, while not as easy to play has move volume, more tone and more sustain
more everything. except a cutaway and big price tag.
I guess after 25 years Guild is just wide open.

Anyway, Cost/sound ratio is not great enough to do the deal.

Old 07-07-2003, 04:18 PM

Default Re: Taylor vs. Guild can do the deal

Quote:
Originally posted by frybaby
I guess after 25 years Guild is just wide open.
That's the most important sentence in your post, IMO. In 25 years your Taylor will be incredible. 25 years from now your Guild will probably be dead. Plan for the future. Ideally you could keep both, but within 3 years your Taylor will reach the level that your Guild is at, and it will stay there for a long time.
Old 07-07-2003, 04:27 PM