The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > General Acoustic Guitar Discussion

Old 11-28-2012, 03:52 PM

Default Hello All - New/Old Member

The last time I was able to play much guitar was ages ago. I'm freed up a bit and have been re-learning how to play. I wasn't a very good player to begin with as I would always play for three months, put the guitar down for a year, pick it up, wash rinse repeat.

At some point I made an account here but I don't see any posts I made. The last time I logged in, according the stats things was "You last visited: 05-28-2005 at 09:16 PM". Wowsers.

A few weeks ago I found an instructor that I feel fits and he is helping me learn to be a better guitar player, not just play a few songs.

About me: I'm a 44 year old father of two, husband, etc. I'm a Systems Architect by trade and a hitting instructor on the side. I'm currently finishing the degree I started back in 1990 and will be done with that next year.

With the above in mind I'm taking the approach that learning to be a better guitar player will be a slow process due to the lack of time. However what I am doing is being consistent. If that means just 15 minutes in the evening then I'll do that rather than just say "Ah crap, I don't have time to do a proper session". I find that I don't get frustrated that way.

I hope to be able to talk with others as a n00b would and learn as I go. Eventually I'd like to help others if I can get there.

So.... hello.
Old 11-28-2012, 04:43 PM
Charter Member

Hi WM,

Welcome back to the AGF! Good for you for going after the guitar in a more methodical way. And 15 minutes a night is good!

- Glenn
Old 11-28-2012, 04:56 PM

WonderMonkey ... This is your 2nd post. I'd Welcome you to the forum but you joined back in 2005, before I was here.