The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > General Acoustic Guitar Discussion

Old 12-02-2009, 09:20 PM

Default Taylor's 8 string baritone guitar

I've been playing acoustic baritone guitar since 1999, when my McAlister baritone first arrived. Roy McAlister and I have since kicked around several ideas for yet another baritone for me, and stringing it as an 8 string, with octave courses on what would be the D and G strings of a guitar (and are the A and D strings of the baritone) is one of the ideas we've kicked around.

Now it appears that Taylor has gone ahead with this idea. I already own a Larrivée L-03R standard guitar that I converted to an 8 string, with octave courses on the D and G, but haven't yet had a chance to try one of these Taylors.

Have any of you seen one yet?

Just curious.

Wade Hampton Miller
Old 12-02-2009, 09:32 PM

Yes, both Neal and I got a chance to play one the other day. It is a very curious beast. Kind of fun and tonally interesting, but also sort of sounds like a guitar on Quaaludes.
Old 12-03-2009, 08:15 AM
Charter Member

I have no idea what the qualudes reference means but I bought one a few days ago and wow, do I love this guitar. Especially on ballads, it is incredible. I like it fingerstyle, as well. A Kyser capo won't hold the strings down, I need to find my Shubb and try that.
Old 12-03-2009, 08:53 AM
Charter Member

Wade - I would love to see a picture of how you converted your L03R to an 8 string. Where did you put the 2 new tuners, how did you modify the bridge, etc.

I have an L03SP, all sapele I dearly love. I don't know if I would risk it to a mod like that, but I am so interested in the Taylor 8 string, I might consider letting someone who could do it professionally do it for me.

Old 12-03-2009, 12:57 PM