The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > General Acoustic Guitar Discussion

Old 11-05-2011, 01:50 PM

Default Why do we play

I know why we play. Because we love it. Pure and simple. But why do we love it? I spend hours every day practicing guitar and I used to be that way about piano. It is so satisfying. But why? I am far from great. If I want to hear really good music, I'll play it through my iPhone or stereo. What is it about making our own music, however imperfect, that is satisfying? It can't just be the sound because we could listen to others play. So why is it so satisfying to play our own music, even when we stumble through it? Anyone have any thoughts on this?

Buscarino Cabaret
Bourgeois OMC (Adi/Madagascar)
Bourgeois OO (Aged Tone Adi/Mahogany)
Bourgeois 0 (Italian spruce/Madagascar)
Old 11-05-2011, 01:58 PM

Interesting question. I started playing because my musical heros back in the '80s played and it enabled me to play along with them (while listening to their casette tapes). Now, I enjoy playing and writing. One of the enjoyments in my life.
Old 11-05-2011, 02:11 PM

Being creative is an innate human need and although creativity can take many avenues many find the creative expression of music very satisfying. For me I love to sing and I love acoustic guitar music and find that in singing songs that express how I feel is part of what keeps me sane.
Old 11-05-2011, 02:14 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Andromeda View Post
Being creative is an innate human need and although creativity can take many avenues many find the creative expression of music very satisfying. For me I love to sing and I love acoustic guitar music and find that in singing songs that express how I feel is part of what keeps me sane.
well said Bill
Old 11-05-2011, 02:22 PM