The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > General Acoustic Guitar Discussion

Old 05-06-2024, 01:34 AM

Default Is it impatience, or something deeper?

I have recently sold a few guitars , one of which I'd had for nigh on 40 years. But I have noticed that when I've bought a guitar, and I like it, it stays great for a couple of months, then ... I start to feel I need to get something else or that the guitar is lacking something. I've noticed this with the three guitars I currently have. But I stuck with the Auden I have (gave the truss a wee tweak is the only change) and now I think it is brilliant and I will never sell it. It has taken me over a year to get there. Odd. The Eastman is relatively new, but I've been playing it out for a few months non stop, and it seems to be getting better (mainly thumb picker finger picked and even with the occasional damped strumming). I usually use an Orchid DI box with it. I expect the love to drift shortly and for me to start making eyes at something else, but I think it's nothing to do with the guitar and it's a personality flaw in me. I don't play the Sigma (newish one) much, my wife does, but I heard her yesterday giving it a work out (strumming away in a mad girlie band) and it sounded really deep and melodic (I've never heard it so good). I was going to flog it, too!

I'm now thinking my initial thoughts on the guitar are just right, but that I just get some mental drift, that if I stick with it for some months, it will pass.

Anyone else similarly afflicted? This isn't about where a guitar just no longer works for me because I've changed styles etc.

Auden Chester 45 Cedar/Rosewood
Eastman AC322ce Spruce/Mahogany
Sigma SDM-SG5 Spruce/Mahogany
Deering Goodtime Leader O/B banjo
Epiphone IBG SG (in cool dude black)
Old 05-06-2024, 03:55 AM