The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > General Acoustic Guitar Discussion

Old 02-05-2024, 07:38 AM

Default Flaminco??

I've been playing acoustic and electric guitar now for about 60 years. Just recently, I bought a flaminco guitar, and I am finding out that learning to play it is almost as difficult as when I was first learning guitar.

I guess I just need more time in the saddle...
Old 02-05-2024, 07:42 AM

Sounds like a great saddle to ride. Hi-oh, Silver!
Old 02-05-2024, 07:59 AM

Flamenco is easily one of the most demanding styles, requiring total immersion. It is not just music, but dance and culture. Good luck! Playing for 60 years and still learning new things? THAT is the way to be.

http://www.youtube.com/user/jeffreymatz
Old 02-05-2024, 08:20 AM

I owned a Amalio Burguet Flamenco guitar for a while. A beautiful guitar (I regret selling!). A good flamenco guitar should have a very low action by definition. Mine was really easy to play compared to a typical steel string or even a classical. Mine just growled, in a really good way.
The technique of proper classical or flamenco Is really hard though. I used to just noodle on mine. May well get another one some day. A proper traditional one though and hand built, like my last one.
Old 02-05-2024, 08:20 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by mr. beaumont View Post
Flamenco is easily one of the most demanding styles, requiring total immersion. It is not just music, but dance and culture. Good luck! Playing for 60 years and still learning new things? THAT is the way to be.
Indeed! Learning a new style can be the life blood of creativity. I love flamenco, but the latest style I’ve ventured into is bluegrass. Never thought I would listen to BG, let alone play it! But it’s been WAY more fun than I thought it would be. Also, I don’t sound like a hardcore BG player now, but the style has informed my playing for the better.

Keep learning!