The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > General Acoustic Guitar Discussion

Old 09-03-2022, 07:23 AM

Default That's a lot of guitars!

Hello everyone,

I'm new here, I really like this site, it has a world of information and I've already learned a fair bit in a couple of weeks, even though I've been playing guitar for about 50 years.

The one thing that has really surprised me is the sheer volume of guitars that some members here own. Don't get me wrong, I don't believe you can have too many and there's hardly anything better to spend money on than music. But really ...... wow. Fifteen guitars, twenty guitars ..... What do you do with all those instruments?

I play basically two of my guitars ..... the rest tend to sit under the bed, in the closet. I only have a handful of other guitars, that never get played and sometimes I find one that I forgot I had. Right now I'm in the process of getting rid of the excess, partly because I don't want to have instruments that are not being taken care of and played regularly. I also play electric bass and drums and sing so I have to divide my time between all that.

I totally get it. It's a boom time for guitars, it's like Christmas .... There are so many out there that are just great instruments and they just keep coming with new designs, pre-aged tops and so on.

So, how many do you have?

How do you take care of all those guitars? And how many do you play every day?

Turtle
Old 09-03-2022, 07:42 AM

Hi, Turtle.

Some have the collector gene, some don't. I consider having many guitars as "vexation of spirit".

The more you have to maintain the less time you have to play. As lovers of the instrument it's often a balancing act to determine the appropriate number that satisfies our needs without turning into a burden.