The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > General Acoustic Guitar Discussion

Old 05-08-2015, 06:05 AM

Default All About Arms

Before I started playing guitar six weeks ago I had a pre-existing problem with my neck, related to years at a desk job and poor posture. The condition was bad the last 10 months, but after physio and chiro it is much better now. My posture is also better and now I'm able to do things that gave me much discomfort months ago.

However, I noticed that after a few weeks of starting guitar, 30 min or more a day, that my arms would get tires, a bit achy. All else is good, but with the condition I have, there is a relationship between neck and arms (trigger points) and I think playing the guitar is affecting the condition. I'm wondering how to play guitar so that I don't get tired or sore arms.

I'm trying to keep everything relaxed, but there are good days and bad.
Old 05-08-2015, 06:27 AM

Have you tried changing the way you hold the guitar? A classical position might keep your torso, shoulders, and neck more inline and centered.
Old 05-08-2015, 06:29 AM

Default All About Arms

I most often play seated with my dreadnought on my right knee (I'm a Right handed player). Sometimes I find my neck and/or shoulder get tight and uncomfortable playing this way. For me it's habit and probably always will be. HOWEVER, when I find this posture uncomfortable, I switch knees and place my guitar on my left leg (instead of my right) and this offers a lot of relief. It feels to me like my strumming shoulder and arm can hang a little more naturally and comfortably. Give it a shot, it may work for you too.
Old 05-08-2015, 07:37 AM
Charter Member

You may want to try a neck-up type of device like this:

http://www.amazon.com/ErgoPlay-Tappe.../dp/B005QKNUOW

There are others, like the Dynarette cushion, the Neckup, etc.
Old 05-08-2015, 07:41 AM

Quote: