The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > General Acoustic Guitar Discussion

Old 10-18-2009, 04:26 PM
Charter Member

Default inexpensive parlor recommendations

although i find them a bit awkward to play, while my shoulder is getting better i decided to play a parlor and let it rest. tried a larrivee parlor last week and there was no stress on the arm, so i'm looking for a cheap parlor with a fairly wide nut. haven't had a chance to get out there and look at the lower cost ones, although during the week i'll probably run to mccabes to check out the art and lutherie ami's they usually have there. i was interested in the seagull grand but in the pics the lower bout seems bigger than the average parlor.

any recommendations appreciated - i'd say under $500 would be my budget, 1 3/4 would be around the nut size i'm looking for.

thanks1
Old 10-18-2009, 04:37 PM

I'm no expert, but to me the body depth matters more than the bout width for comfort. Have you tried a thin (4" or so) 000?

You can find used Larrivee parlors for $500 or so. I think there's a rosewood P-01 in the For Sale section for around that price.

gits: good and plenty
chops: snickers
Old 10-18-2009, 04:44 PM

Here's one to look at. In your price range shipped too.

http://www.acousticguitarforum.com/f...d.php?t=166462

Steel and Wood, "Listen closely and she'll tell you her secrets" RG
Old 10-18-2009, 04:44 PM
Charter Member

i found the bout size mattered for me - the larrivee i tried was deeper than most parlors, but was still such a relief to play. i have a narrow body grand concert, but because i'm only 5'3"- and my arms are pretty short - i have to reach to get over it. it was never a problem till i overextended my right shoulder.

i was hoping to come in under that, but it's worth a thought. i must admit that larrivee sounded sweet. if i can't find one with a wider nut for less, i'll have to try used.

Quote: