The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > General Acoustic Guitar Discussion

Old 09-06-2021, 04:17 AM

Default Do you do your own setups?

If so, what tool kit would you recommend? I’m thinking of trying it, but I’m a little nervous! Any do’s and don’ts that I should know of would be greatly appreciated.
Old 09-06-2021, 05:58 AM

I bought 6 Uo-Chikyu nut files from Japarts years ago. Made in Japan, great quality and works great. I also bought a Uo-Chikyu fret crowning file as well.

As far as do’s and don’ts (or is it dos and dont's?) a little goes a long way. If you're filing nut slots, or shaving nuts/saddles just do a little, put the strings on and check. Very easy to go too far and end up too low with fret buzz (I've done it before).

As far as tools, get a good, precise measuring tool.
Old 09-06-2021, 07:29 AM

I've been doing my own since 2011. I'll echo the above post about taking it slow. If you do mess up, though, replacement nuts and saddles are not that expensive. A fraction of the cost of you'll spend for the recommended tools. For saddle sanding, you'll want a variety of sandpaper ranging from like 400 to 80 grit. For nut files I use a $3 set of files from Harbor Freight. I have automotive feeler gauges for measuring.

If you're only going to set up one or two guitars, I can't see spending $80 on nut files. My buddy bought an $80 set and they didn't even work.

If you have many guitars you'll be setting up, I suggest getting several replacement nuts and saddles to practice on and be able to swap out.

I use a steel polishing cloth to polish frets.

I use 1000 grit steel wool to take off the high gloss finish off the back of my necks and make them more of a satin finish.

When gluing the nut back in, a little dab will do ya. Some people don't even glue them back in.