The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > PLAY and Write

Old 01-24-2024, 12:43 PM

Default Best way to learn Chet Atkins Style of playing ?

I'm not a beginner, but not intermediate, matter of fact if it wasn't for JustinGuitar, I probably wouldn't be playing at all.
I mostly learn just songs and I'm happy with that, but something about Chet Atkins or Merle Travis style intrigues me, and I'd like to try and learn it.
Furthest I ever seem to get is the alternating bass strings. I can't seem to make that jump to picking at the higher notes at the same time. I can however rub my stomach and pat my head at the same time, If that means anything.
For anyone that plays this style, please point me in a direction to learn it a step at a time ?
Old 01-24-2024, 01:59 PM
Charter Member

There are lots of resources on "Travis picking". You might try Mark Hanson's book for starters. You might also check out some of Tommy Emmanuel's material, I think he has a course on TrueFire about this, and there are others on TrueFire as well that cover this style.

You also might find this short lesson I did for Acoustic Guitar useful (geez, has it really been 14 years ago?...):

Old 01-24-2024, 02:17 PM

Happy Traum has a lesson on Homespun tapes which was how I started years ago.
Taylor 110
Martin DX
Epiphone Texan 12 string
Sigma Mandolin
SCGC VJ
Alvarez Nashville tuning
https://soundcloud.com/gideon-besson...social_sharing
Old 01-24-2024, 02:31 PM
Get off my lawn kid

2nd recommendation for Mark Hansen 's Travis Picking books.

My SoundCloud page

Avalon L-320C, Guild D-120, Martin D-16GT, McIlroy A20, Pellerin SJ CW

Cordobas - C5, Fusion 12 Orchestra, C12, Stage Traditional

Alvarez AP66SB, Seagull Folk

Aria {Johann Logy}:
Old 01-24-2024, 02:59 PM