The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > General Acoustic Guitar Discussion

Old 06-06-2015, 01:00 PM

Question The Martin

I am not a Martin expert, so I am asking those of you who are.

During our recent Martin factory tour, we noticed some necks being worked on that had a headstock that said "The Martin". It was also not a standard looking Martin headstock.

Can someone explain?
Have been finger-pickin' guitar since 1973!
Love my mountain dulcimers too! (7 Mountain Dulcimers)

Old 06-06-2015, 01:04 PM

They came out with a model to copy the Gibson look.

Old 06-06-2015, 01:43 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by frets4fun View Post

During our recent Martin factory tour, we noticed some necks being worked on that had a headstock that said "The Martin". It was also not a standard looking Martin headstock.
Best thing would be to just forget you ever saw that.
Old 06-06-2015, 01:51 PM

Yes, that's it. Thank you.

Well, they only had lower end Martins to play in the visitor center, so I didn't get to play one like that. Pretty cool, though.
Have been finger-pickin' guitar since 1973!
Love my mountain dulcimers too! (7 Mountain Dulcimers)

Last edited by ifret; 06-06-2015 at 03:42 PM.
Old 06-06-2015, 01:51 PM

It's sort of a joke alluding to many of the old Gibsons from the 20s and earlier

Old 06-06-2015, 03:23 PM

Chris 'The Martin' CEO would be responsible for that debacle more than likely. The man has head stock envy.... check that... style envy period. from the look of some of the CEO model's that have been released in the recent past. Personally though they are many great playing and sounding guitars I'd really hesitate to ever purchase one for the very reason you speak of.

My site: Personal Blog

Yamaha LL16R-12 L Series A.R.E.
Yamaha FG-75
Fender CF 60 CE
Ibanez AF75TDG
Epiphone Les Paul Std PlusPRO
Eastman MB515 Mando
Yamaha YPT230 Keyboard
Old 06-06-2015, 07:00 PM