The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > General Acoustic Guitar Discussion

Old 05-27-2015, 12:50 PM

Default NGD: Froggy Bottom M Deluxe Maple. Lefty, of course...

WOW... That's all I can say. I've owned over 65 high end guitars since I started playing at 19. I'm 35 now. I've had some really good guitars from Martin (over 25), Taylor, Collings, Santa Cruz, Bourgeois, Etc. My favorite, and first "keeper" was/is a 2014 Huss & Dalton TD-R with hide glue and cooked top. It's a BEAST. Best guitar I'd ever played. Hands down. And that includes some **** fine guitars. But the H&D was far and away better. Still is.

I've been looking for something a bit smaller and sweeter. The Huss is a **** cannon and will take anything you can throw at it and then some. Well, this Froggy is no slouch itself. While it can handle any strumming you throw at it, it really shines with light to medium finger or flat picking. If I had to describe the tone, I'd say it's as if you're hearing a top notch profession recording that's been remasters to the highest possible level, AND amplified. I mean it sounds heavenly. It's unreal. I've never heard anything even close to it. It's hard to describe it, really. You'd have to hear it. And the fit, finish and craftsmanship is absolutely extraordinary. I'm VERY happy. The perfect partner to my holy grail dread.

As I sit here and play them both, I can honestly say I've never been this happy or satisfied with my guitar stable as I am right now. Not even close. I'm very grateful for the pair. Life is good.

Very quick and dirty iPhone pics. Just to give an idea.

(does anyone know if you get a deal if you order TWO Calton cases at once: ; ) )

Old 05-27-2015, 12:51 PM

Old 05-27-2015, 12:55 PM
Charter Member