The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > General Acoustic Guitar Discussion

Old 05-11-2016, 06:24 PM

Default Help With Buying a Flamenco Guitar

I guess I should start by giving you some background on why somebody who doesn't play guitar is looking for advice on buying a flamenco guitar.

There's a homeless man that plays flamenco and classical guitar in the subways in my home city. (I also believe that he likely has a mild case of autism, as I work with autistic students for a living and his behavior shows some signs that would stand out to people who work with the autistic community). He is an amazing musician, and he and I can go on forever talking to each other about music, as we're both music nuts (we'll talk about Paco de Lucia, Sabicas, Julian Bream, Django Reinhardt, John Williams, Ana Vidovic, Grisha Goryachev, etc. for hours on end).

I always found him to be in a very good mood, until one day a while back when I found him sitting at one of the stops he usually plays at, but without his guitar. He looked very depressed, and I asked him what was going on. He told me that a man had stolen his new flamenco guitar that had cost around $900 (I don't know if he bought the instrument new or if he got it used, as he had it stolen almost right after he had bought it). My heart just broke for him. He has since been able to get an old, beaten up acoustic, but he told me about the troubles of trying to play the styles he plays on a guitar that is not designed for flamenco and classical pieces.

So, my question is, are there any brands/models of flamenco guitars that are good quality, but not insanely expensive? I'd love to be able to surprise him with a flamenco guitar that's at least decent quality. I was hoping for something no higher than $1000, and it doesn't have to be new. I have no problem buying used.