The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > General Acoustic Guitar Discussion

Old 04-22-2024, 04:19 PM

Default Yamaha FG840 or FG3?

I am GASing for a Dreadnought. I sold my last one a few years ago and my OMs just don't scratch that Dreadnought itch.

I have decided to focus on Yamaha for this purchase after being very impressed with the last two Yamaha's that I purchased (CSF3M and FS830).

I was set on getting an FG3, until I got the FS830. My FS830 is every bit as good, if not better, than the all solid wood CSFM3.

My question is, how would the FG3 compare to the FG840?
Unfortunate neither of these is available locally to try.

Is it worth the price difference? (USA Prices)
I have an offer for the FG840 under $400
(I realize that the price difference is lessened by the lack of gig bag with the FG840)

A little background into my expectations:
I am a former professional, who only plays guitar at home now. I sold off my higher-end stuff over the last several years to pay for grad school and just want a few functional guitars. I mostly care that they that sound and feel great. I am not super picky about neck size. I have small hands but played classical enough to be able to stretch my fingers.

I am currently cataloging every instrument I have owned, making notes like: why I sold the guitar or what I regret about selling the guitar. 30 acoustic guitars into the project now and can I think I finally know what I like in a guitar.

As I have gone through my notes I consistently see that my priorities are:
  • Resonance I can feel in my hands
  • Durability
  • Balanced sound, with healthy low-end punch.

Thanks for any input.
Old 04-22-2024, 07:53 PM

Default Dreadnaught itch