The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > General Acoustic Guitar Discussion

Old 08-30-2014, 08:20 AM

Default I'm frustrated.

Folks I'm 77 years old bought my first guitar in 2009. I’m self taught which may be the problem. I'm retired have plenty of time to practice and do but still have a problem making it through a complete song without making a mistake. If it’s not the left fretting hand it’s the right strumming hand.

I only play the old country music. I love to put a CD on my stereo and play along with the likes of Haggard, Jennings, Coulter, Johnny Rodriguez and Doyle Lawson. Have no trouble playing along but can't stop making those little annoying mistakes.

Dog gone it I'm frustrated.

Not looking for sympathy just suggestions on how to get better. Do I just need to keep at it? Should it improve in time?

Give me some suggestions please.

djh
Old 08-30-2014, 08:48 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by djh1765 View Post
Folks I'm 77 years old bought my first guitar in 2009. I’m self taught which may be the problem. I'm retired have plenty of time to practice and do but still have a problem making it through a complete song without making a mistake. If it’s not the left fretting hand it’s the right strumming hand.

I only play the old country music. I love to put a CD on my stereo and play along with the likes of Haggard, Jennings, Coulter, Johnny Rodriguez and Doyle Lawson. Have no trouble playing along but can't stop making those little annoying mistakes.

Not looking for sympathy just suggestions on how to get better. Do I just need to keep at it? Should it improve in time?

djh
Try to learn a slower tempo song like "I Believe in You" by Don Williams.