The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > General Acoustic Guitar Discussion

Old 04-06-2024, 09:46 AM
Charter Member

Default Guitar teachers who will travel to a student’s home?

Hi all,

I quickly became a bit discouraged with Google, and as usual there is the possibility of user error…

But I have had difficulty finding anyone in the Hudson Valley NY area who seems like would be a compatible teacher, and also would travel to a student’s home. I actually thought this would be easier to find, but it has not been. At least for me.

Does anyone know of any good platforms that connect teachers / students (teachers willing to travel to homes) or perhaps is just knowledgeable of educators in the nyc / Hudson valley area?

Thanks!
Old 04-06-2024, 10:46 AM
Charter Member

Hi DLQ.

I am a teacher. I am in southern England and mostly teach folks in the USA.

I use Zoom, and offer one-to-one hour long sessions tailored to the client's needs.

I've been doing this since 2020, and, much to my surprise, have found that using zoom is as good, and probably better, that actual face to face, as whilst you can see each other's face and hands clearly, there is far less of nervousness that is often present when actually physically face to face.

Old 04-06-2024, 10:51 AM

I've seen people advertising in Craigslist. I would also check out all your Folk, Folklore, Bluegrass and guitar-oriented music stores and centers which is where most of the teachers I know gather. Remember that for a teacher to come to you they will likely have to charge much more to account for their travel time. If you can go to a folklore center, guitar/music store, Guitar Center (I've seen people getting lessons there) you will probably fare better.
Old 04-06-2024, 11:32 AM
Charter Member

You need to better define your location. Someone for Tarrytown isn't going to want to drive to Coxsackie to give a one hour lesson.