The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > General Acoustic Guitar Discussion

Old 03-18-2016, 03:05 PM

Default What guitar should I get next??

Hey all! This is my first time posting here but I have been a member of this forum just looking at everything. I tried searching this but nothing could come up. Firstly I have a Taylor 214ce DLX . I'm looking at getting another guitar right now but I'm mixed up on what I should get next. I had my eyes set on getting the Taylor GS mini since I am in the military and it would be nice so I could travel with it when ever I deploy. But I have some friends that are telling me I should get into playing electric guitar I.e. Fender strat, les Paul. What would your suggestions be? Is it good to have both an electric and an acoustic?
Old 03-18-2016, 03:32 PM
Charter Member

I wouldn't get into electric if you want something to travel with. Considering you could be anywhere in the world, I'd look at carbon fiber travel guitars. No issues with heat or humidity. They aren't cheap, but would be worth it for you.
2011 Santa Cruz D P/W
Pono OP 30 D parlor
Pono OP12-30
Pono MT uke
Goldtone Paul Beard squareneck resophonic
Fluke tenor ukulele
Boatload of home rolled telecasters

"Shut up and play ur guitar" Frank Zappa
Old 03-18-2016, 03:39 PM

I have played a few when I went by guitar center earlier today. Just didn't fully like a carbon fiber ones as I did when I played the Taylor gs mini. And as for electric I think my friends just want me to get one so I can jam along with them. Which I use to play electric when I was way younger maybe 10 years ago.
Old 03-18-2016, 03:42 PM
Charter Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by hinkster3876 View Post