The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > General Acoustic Guitar Discussion

Old 02-18-2022, 07:54 AM
Charter Member

Default One month off, how do I keep up my chops?

I'm facing another surgery on my left hand. The first one was 5 years ago for Dupetrens Contracture on three fingers. I started playing guitar after it healed to strengthen the hand and exercise my brain. Who knew that I would become so hooked on it.

So now I'm facing another surgery on April 1. It will be for Trigger Finger release on the pointer and more Dupetrens on the ring finger and pinky. Recovery will be two weeks of no stress and barely moving the hand, then gradually working to get it stronger. So I have a month of nothing.

One thing I can do is to go back to the vocal exercises I was doing with my voice teacher. That will help. I can also try singing with just a metronome or a backing track. I don't know what else I can do.

This spring, I'd like to get my jam group back together. I'd like to be ready to play.

All your help and suggestions are appreciated!
Old 02-18-2022, 08:36 AM

Sorry about your problems, and I wish that there was something that I could suggest, but the only way to get your chops back is the same way you got them in the first place, practice, practice, PRACTICE .
Old 02-18-2022, 08:39 AM

Good luck with your surgery first of all.

Really Listen to a lot of the music you play and focus on the timing and Rhythm with you body and arms. Foot tapping. Really getting into the flow of the music.

If you have recordings of yourself listen to them critically and make a note of what you can improve on. And singing for sure—good call.
Old 02-18-2022, 09:47 AM
Charter Member