The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > General Acoustic Guitar Discussion

Old 02-16-2022, 10:10 AM

Default Help select a parlor-style guitar

I started playing guitar 12 years ago around when I turned 40, mostly focusing on a variety of electrics that I snapped up. Nothing fancy, intro-level American Strats, a Warmoth Tele and a few different Epiphone Gibson clones. Over the last couple of years, I've been playing more and more acoustic. I find a creativity that comes out with acoustic much more than electric, and it has also improved my playing quite a bit.

Currently I have two acoustics, a Yamaha APX500, which was my first guitar, and one that I mainly just keep as a backup now. The other is a Taylor 324ce, all mahogany, which I like a lot and play often. I'm beginning to try to expand my acoustic arsenal, but have a bit of confusion. Problem number one is that I really do like Taylor, Martin and Gibson a lot; I'm not at all in one camp. Problem number two is that I would much prefer all solid wood, which is obviously more expensive and can be a problem with the budget. I used to be more willing to take a layered back/sides model, but the more guitars I try out, the more I can hear the difference of solid wood.

I thought I'd start with a parlor-style guitar, and have tried whatever ones I could find in my area (not a great deal of options). I've also done a lot of reading and watching YouTube demos. At the moment, the Breedlove Organic Artista concertina seems a possibility. New they go for $850, but I have found used ones for as low as $575. I did like it when I finally got to try it. The back and sides are solid Myrtlewood, which is appealing in the sense that it is rather unique.