The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > General Acoustic Guitar Discussion

Old 01-31-2017, 04:33 PM

Default Need advice for my Guild

I have a 1978 Guild Jumbo F-50 Bld that is about to go under the knife for some guitar work - fret replacement and set-up. The question was posed to me if I wanted to stay with the same fret width or try something a little narrower. When I asked him what the difference was, he gave me a technical explanation that sounded in layman's terms like there would be subtle tonal differences and not so much a difference in the action or playability. I could use some feedback from the wealth of knowledge on this forum before I proceed ahead. Thanks.
Old 01-31-2017, 04:38 PM

I'm no expert but I LOVE the wide flat original frets on the D-55 I bought new in 1977.

Maybe it's psychological but it seems easier to play because of them, more like the neck of an electric guitar.
Old 01-31-2017, 08:41 PM

If you like the way it feels now, then tell the luthier to " Put in what it has now. "
I have no idea what frets are in ANY of my guitars. It must not matter than much to me. Electric or Acoustic.
1986 Ovation 1758 12 String
2007 Walden G2070
2008 Guild D55 Prototype
1998 Guild Starfire IV
2016 Guild Newark St. X-175 Sunburst
1996 Ovation 1768-7LTD " custom "
Old 01-31-2017, 09:27 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tico View Post
I'm no expert but I LOVE the wide flat original frets on the D-55 I bought new in 1977.

Maybe it's psychological but it seems easier to play because of them, more like the neck of an electric guitar.
This is my answer.
Old 02-01-2017, 05:07 PM
Charter Member