The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > General Acoustic Guitar Discussion

Old 01-31-2017, 06:37 AM

Default Playing song that dont fits your in mind image

looking from the outside I feel I always needed to be that rough and tough guy so to speak. I'm not but that is the image I feel I portray. When I play and sing I feel a lot of the stuff I like to play is on the softer side of music like John Denver to name one of many, but you get the picture I hope

My comment is does anyone else struggle with this? I sure there are, I feel I'm making headway, but struggle with song choices. I feel I really cater to playing for my Wife and this is ok, but want to play in front of others and I want to move past the self mind image thing and come out of the closet so to speak......

I think its so bad, I've been playing for 5 /12 years and my own Mother still doesn't know I play. Now I haven't lived with her for 32 years so unless I told her she wouldn't know.....

Dennis
Old 01-31-2017, 06:56 AM

Default inside/outside

I don't know you well enough to give good advice, but using what you have said here, here's a thought: a "tough guy" singing gentler songs will make a listener think, "Wow, there's more to this guy than I thought!"

Fay OM Sinker Redwood/Tiger Myrtle
Sexauer L00 Adk/Magnolia For Sale
Hatcher Jumbo Bearclaw/"Bacon" Padauk
Goodall Jumbo POC/flamed Mahogany
Appollonio 12 POC/Myrtle
MJ Franks Resonator, all Australian Blackwood
Goodman J45 Lutz/fiddleback Mahogany
Blackbird "Lucky 13" - carbon fiber
'31 National Duolian
+ many other stringed instruments.

Last edited by The Bard Rocks; 01-31-2017 at 09:45 PM.
Old 01-31-2017, 07:09 AM

Words can be trickery at times. Trying to cater to an image can be even more trickerier.
Let the song be the story.
2012 RainSong H DR 1000(original owner)
2011 Gretsch Anniversary Model(original owner)
Mandolin- 1920's A-Style (unknown brand)