The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > General Acoustic Guitar Discussion

Old 05-07-2024, 12:55 PM

Default Cleaner for thin water based satin finish on acoustic guitars

Hey guys, I am just curious what some of you use for just average wipe down for a clear satin water based finish with out clogging up the finish any.

I was thinking mild soap and water would work well but I want to see what some of you guys might use.
Old 05-07-2024, 02:31 PM
Charter Member

Location: North of the Golden Gate, South of the Redwoods, East of the Pacific and West of the Sierras

I have no experience with them but both Taylor and Martin have products specifically formulated for cleaning satin finished guitars. Maybe some folks here have used them and can chime in. I’ve seen the products offered on both Amazon and Sweetwater.
Best,
Jayne
Old 05-07-2024, 03:46 PM

You can just use the damp rag and skip the soap unless it's really bad.
Old 05-07-2024, 04:44 PM

I use DUNLOP 654 Formula 65 Guitar Polish & Cleaner 4oz. on everything. Spritz and wipe without streaks or anything. I keep a bottle in the studio and in my gig-bag and wipe down after any playing sessions or sets. It keeps any sweat, palm, hand, body... secretions off the guitar before anything effects the finish. Cheap and lasts forever. Forget that it says polish. It does not polish just cleans nicely.
Old 05-07-2024, 05:38 PM
Charter Member

A clean rag. Damp if needed. A mild cleaner (any number of them will do but I kinda like the one Gibson makes) a couple times a year if there's grime. Naptha will clean them up well without leaving anything behind. I'm just not super fond of handling it so I only use it once in a while.

Most of the time, just a cloth. Using cleaners a lot actually makes them dirtier in my experience as the cleaners can leave a little bit of film behind.
Old 05-07-2024, 07:10 PM

Thank you all for your input.