The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Other Musical Instruments

Old 04-29-2024, 02:18 PM
Charter Member

Default how important is string choice on mandolin?

I'm a complete beginner on mandolin, but since I'm taking guitar lessons a lot of the music knowledge carries over and the mandolin seems like a fun alternative.

I got a Recording King solid top mandolin a year or so ago but haven't picked it up much. I just tuned it and was plucking around on it today and noticed that it doesn't have a lot of bass presence.

My question is - will a set of warmer strings like monels help bring out some more bass on an inexpensive mandolin like this or will it be a waste of time?

I know with guitars you can expect a pretty big difference between say 80/20s and monels.
Old 04-29-2024, 03:08 PM

You can expect a big difference in overall tone between those two string types. You could try flatwounds too (d'addario) for an even darker tone.

No mandolin is going to have much bass though!
Old 04-29-2024, 03:27 PM
Charter Member

You're never going to bring out much more bass with string choice on mandolin - mostly that's a property of the instrument. But choosing a mellower type of string might get you a rounder, cleaner tone on a bright sounding mandolin. I've quite liked D'addario Nickel Bronze for that, you could try a flatwound set too but those may be more of an acquired taste. I have the D'addario flatwound set on my mandolin at the moment (a nice flat top Fylde), some days I like them and some days I feel the G is a little too plunky and uke-like.
Also double bass, electric bass, cittern, mandolin...
Old 04-29-2024, 03:47 PM
Charter Member

The standard gauge for mandolins in pretty much always 11-40.

I mostly always used D'addario or Dunlop PB strings but in latter years I have changed to D'addario Nickel bronze, or Dunlop Nickel.