The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > General Acoustic Guitar Discussion

Old 07-01-2016, 03:32 PM

Default What's louder: mahogany or rosewood?

Hi,

My name is Gerben, I'm from the Netherlands and just entered the forum. I've been playing guitar for over 25 years and mostly play electric, but I get more interested in acoustics by the day.
The acoustics I own are a Guild F1512E 12-string and a Martin GPCRSGT.

Could anyone tell me if there's a difference in volume too between Rosewood and Mahogany?
Old 07-01-2016, 03:52 PM

How much volume a guitar produces is almost independent of the back and side material.
et al
Old 07-01-2016, 04:02 PM

I have OM sized guitars-some have Rosewood and some have Mahogany. Some of the RWs are louder than some of the Hogs and some of the Hogs are louder than some of the RWs so you can't always say one type of wood is louder than another. In fact my loudest OM is Hog and my quietest is also Hog.
Old 07-01-2016, 04:04 PM

Clear. Thank you.
Old 07-01-2016, 04:37 PM

It's not the wood, so much as the size and shape of the body, how heavily (or lightly) the top is braced and how heavily you pick that's going to determine the volume of your sound. Think about it: the bigger the box of air, the more air that's in it to vibrate and the more air that should come out of the soundhole, thereby producing more volume. If you're talking about the response of an SBT or UST, you're cheating.
Old 07-01-2016, 06:16 PM

Is an impression of volume dependent on more than a single factor? For instance, does a full, rounded note that registers highest on a meter deliver more impact to the ear than a lesser volume note that attenuates more quickly after having been struck/played? For me, rosewood approximates the latter, while mahogany is more the former.
Old 07-01-2016, 06:27 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bax Burgess View Post