The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > General Acoustic Guitar Discussion

Old 07-01-2016, 09:13 AM

Default Epiphone hummingbird Pro vs alvarez ad 60

I am I beginning player who has been learning for about a month on my Fender package guitar. I am looking to step up to a better guitar that I can practice with and also will last me quite a while. I have narrowed it down between the Epiphone hummingbird Pro and an Alvarez ad60. Understand the Alvarez has a 1.75 nut which I'm not sure I would need as I am just learning to make chords. Do I need a wider in order to learn. Is the $30 extra worth paying for the Epiphone. I know it comes down to tone and playability I'm just wondering which is the best value for my money. Both guitars have quite a reputation of about the reviews I've read. I'm leaning towards the Epiphone but I don't want to pass up the Alvarez if it is a better guitar. Can someone please help
Old 07-01-2016, 10:48 AM

Why did you specifically chose those two even though you are new to playing and maybe not fully knowledgeable to consider others ?

I haven't played the Alvarez but the Epi Birds I find are not particularly inspiring.

I would encourage you to take a closer look at Yamaha and also Cort Earth series which are similar price level. I have had my Cort Earth 100 for almost 20 years, why, because its a great sounding and playing guitar.

And .. welcome to the forum.
The Pickers 43' Gibson LG-2, 09' Furch OM 32SM (custom) , 02' Martin J-40
The Beater 99' Cort Earth 100
What we do on weekends:
http://www.reverbnation.com/doubleshotprague
Old 07-01-2016, 11:10 AM

These guitars are different except for the woods in both: solid spruce top and laminated mahogany back and sides and are standard dreadnought shape (non slope-shouldered.)