The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > General Acoustic Guitar Discussion

Old 02-10-2022, 03:01 PM

Default String recommendations for Yamaha FG700s?

Greetings!

I know a thread like this went around about a decade ago, but I thought I'd see if anyone would like to update the query.

I have been playing guitar for literally five decades, but not much at all for the last two decades. In the old days, I barely gave any consideration to strings; I would just always get whatever Ernie Ball's or D'Addario's that I had gotten before. My neighbor just gave me his old (but pristine) Yamaha FG700s because I told him I wanted to start playing again, and so now I am trying to learn a little bit more about string options.

I play with a pick more than I play with fingers. I probably favor lighter gauge strings. I have never explored the differences between coated vs uncoated, nor the relative merits of 80/20 bronze versus 92/8 phosphor bronze, so I realize I am now at the start of a learning curve.

Anyway, any recommendations or guidance y'all care to offer is much appreciated. I have a friend who was a luthier, and he says he always uses D'Addario EJ-16 lights, so I am leaning that way. Some suggest those might be a little bright with this guitar, but I am not sure how much that would bother me. The Martin MSP4100 SP Phosphor Bronze lights seem like a good bet, tho kind of pricey; maybe a less expensive Martin variety?

Thanks for any suggestions!

Chuck
Old 02-10-2022, 07:13 PM

MSP4100 are the discontinued Martin line, so if you can find them the prices will be high, but MA540, the new version, should be $7 or so. I play the medium versions and they're very nice strings.
Old 02-10-2022, 07:20 PM

I have gravitated to D'Addario Bluegrass Gauge PB strings for my Dred size guitars.
My preference is treaded sets.
Old 02-10-2022, 07:38 PM

Martin retro 12s
Old 02-10-2022, 07:53 PM