The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > General Acoustic Guitar Discussion

Old 12-25-2021, 07:23 AM

Default Santa Cruz Mid Tension Strings

I recently recv'd a set of these strings and have never tried them. I looked them up and see they sell for $18 a set! I normally use medium gauge strings and tune down a whole step. Sometimes I'd like a _slightly_ lighter touch, but light or even med-light strings are too slinky. I'm wondering if these SC Mid Tensions will work or be too light? I know I can put them on and find out, but I just hate to waste a set of $18 strings. Do any of you have experience with these? The search feature surprisingly came up with very little info.
Old 12-25-2021, 07:28 AM

I have limited experience with them (just the light tension ones), but I think you should give them a try. They sound pretty good!
Old 12-25-2021, 08:08 AM
Charter Member

They might feel a little slinky tuned a whole step down. They have the same tension as many light gauge sets. I still think you should try them though FWIW.
Larrivee P03 sitka/hog,simple 6 OM & OM 09
Eastman E100ss-sb
Gibson J185 2016 J35 & LG2
Fender player plus telecaster & Mustang P90
Gretsch MIK 5622T
Old 12-25-2021, 08:16 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lillis View Post
They might feel a little slinky tuned a whole step down. They have the same tension as many light gauge sets. I still think you should try them though FWIW.
This is curious to me, how a "mid tension" set can have the same tension as many lights? Maybe I'm not fully understanding the concept behind these SC strings? On the package is written: "Gauge means nothing. Tension means everything." I'm mostly concerned that I will put them on, dislike them immensely, and immediately trash them. (This very thing happened when I tried Straight Up Strings heavies.) It just seems like a waste of $18.
Old 12-25-2021, 08:49 AM
Charter Member