The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > General Acoustic Guitar Discussion

Old 12-11-2014, 01:10 PM

Default What do you do to test a guitar?

Hello,

Ok beginner here. Exactly 1 year playing in. My 40th birthday is coming up at the end of the month and I've saved some money to buy a nice Electric-Acoustic. I read somewhere that you should test out the guitars higher up the neck before you buy. Well I'm embarrassed to say I'm not exactly sure what chords/fret placements to do that. I can strum chords down low but does anyone have advice on what you do to check out a new guitar?

I appreciate any input.

Thank you
Old 12-11-2014, 01:47 PM

I'd normally play the chromatic scale on each string individually, going through all fretpositions playing single notes only.
This allows you to determine if there are any 'dead' spots or other anomalies in the sound you hear.
The higher positions will sound shorter and thicker strings even sound shorter still around the 12th fret. Important is that the guitar gives sufficient notelength when struck. Listen for volume differences between each string and position and check for stringbuzz (usually a sign of poor setup).
There shouldn't be too much overall tonedifference but higher up the neck the difference will be more audible.
There's a lot more to take into account though when assessing which guitar is better, most of it is personal preference but if you stick to well reputated brands it shouldn't be too hard to find the one you like best.

Ludwig
Old 12-11-2014, 02:08 PM

In a nutshell, I first play some really pretty chords, just strumming them once and letting them ring out until they disappear. Then I play snippets of my repertoire and see how the instrument handles that wide variety of songs. Then I'll play one or two particular songs from start to finish.