The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > General Acoustic Guitar Discussion

Old 11-28-2014, 01:29 PM

Default String gauge for my Martin

Hello everyone,

I recently purchased a Martin DRS 2 and while playing i noticed its extremely Hard to press on the strings,playing bridge chords or really just playing above 20 min is just plain painful as if i just started playing all over again.
I work a lot so i kind of neglected my hobby of playing the guitar,so i thought i Just lost shape.
And then i found out that my martin has 0.13 strings,i usually playing my Electric gibson with 0.10 and i used to play on 0.11 at most on my old acoustic Which broke,and i thought that those strings were hard to play(the 0.11).
So now i wondered if i even can change the strings to 0.11 or at least 0.12 Without it requiring a setup?

Thanks ahead,
And sorry for my English,hopefully you got my meaning with this story/question.
Old 11-28-2014, 01:39 PM

Going from electric guitar strings to an acoustic guitar strung with mediums is generally going to be challenging at first, regardless, but it sounds as though your Martin guitar needs a proper set up, as well. Are there any experienced guitar repair techs in your area who can get the guitar playing its best for you?

Wade Hampton Miller
Old 11-28-2014, 08:25 PM

Welcome to the forum. You can certainly change your string gauge. I would probably go with SP4200 12's but you can certainly try 11's if that works for you. Once you decide on your strings, take it to your guitar dude and have it set up for the new strings if necessary.

Last edited by DenverSteve; 11-28-2014 at 08:45 PM.
Old 11-28-2014, 08:28 PM

I just put a set on Martin Life Span Phosphorus Bronze Custom Lights (.011 Gauge) on my martin D-35....that's what I'm buying from now on.
Guild F-2512 Deluxe CE
Ibanez Acoustic Bass 12 M1
Martin 12 string X Series
Harley Benton Telecaster
EVH Wolfgang