The Acoustic Guitar Forum

The Acoustic Guitar Forum (https://www.acousticguitarforum.com/forums/index.php)
-   Show and Tell (https://www.acousticguitarforum.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=20)
-   -   RIP Dickey (https://www.acousticguitarforum.com/forums/showthread.php?t=684758)

raysachs 04-18-2024 06:15 PM

RIP Dickey

The only two Allman Bros songs I ever bothered trying to play are these two Dickey Betts hits. In honor of his passing, I decided to do quick and dirty recordings. Let's be honest, quick and dirty is how I do most all recordings. I'm a campfire guitarist, so here are a couple of campfire versions of Blue Sky and Ramblin Man.

Other folks, please feel free to add your Allman Brothers stuff if you've got it. With the talent on this forum, I'm sure some of you have some...

-Ray

SalFromChatham 04-18-2024 07:20 PM

Thanks Ray…

Dickie brought the heat on that Les Paul. RIP and condolences to his family. His son still plays sometimes with Derek Trucks and Susan.

And thanks for sharing your versions.

started with 1 04-18-2024 09:12 PM

2 Classic tunes Ray. Great covers. On one of my group texts my brother and I were remembering that we (18 and 16 ) saw the ABB and Dickey play in the summer of 1979.

started with 1 04-18-2024 09:13 PM

https://youtu.be/dRy_quQs5yQ?feature=shared

raysachs 04-18-2024 10:50 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by SalFromChatham (Post 7446443)
Thanks Ray…

Dickie brought the heat on that Les Paul. RIP and condolences to his family. His son still plays sometimes with Derek Trucks and Susan.

And thanks for sharing your versions.

Thanks for checking it out Sal. I knew that Dickie’s son had a band with Gregg Allman’s son, but I didn’t realize he also plays with Tedeschi Trucks. I saw them not long before the pandemic and it was a flat out amazing show. I’ve never listened to the sons’ Allman Betts band - I’ll have to check them out.

-Ray

raysachs 04-18-2024 11:07 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by started with 1 (Post 7446472)