The Acoustic Guitar Forum

The Acoustic Guitar Forum (https://www.acousticguitarforum.com/forums/index.php)
-   General Acoustic Guitar Discussion (https://www.acousticguitarforum.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=24)
-   -   Ignorance Is Bliss (https://www.acousticguitarforum.com/forums/showthread.php?t=632830)

Dr Dread 11-30-2021 11:32 AM

Ignorance Is Bliss

I've been playing guitar for forty years. I've lived out in the sticks the whole time, with no music stores close by and there are very few other musicians in the area, so I've been out of the loop in a big way.

I'm a little embarrassed to tell you that before coming here, I had no idea of the relationship between acoustic guitars and humidity. I've notice changes in tone, the way sounds travel under different barometric conditions, but I've never thought about swings in humidity possibly damaging my guitars.

I live in the northeastern US and the summers can be very hot and humid and the winters are dry and cold. With our forced air heating system, the humidity levels in the house must be very low at this time of the year.

I've never owned any, well, I won't say good guitars, because if I like the tone and feel of them, I consider them good guitars, regardless of the price.

My question is, with all the big swings in the humidity levels that we have here, how have I not had serious problems in all these years? Have I just been extremely lucky, or are "lower end" guitars by their nature, thicker sound boards etcetera, less affected by humidity?

I have a new Yamaha FGX800C sitting here in it's shipping box, because I foolishly let my case go with a guitar that I recently sold and finances being what they are due to some health issues, I don't see myself buying a new case anytime soon.