The Acoustic Guitar Forum

The Acoustic Guitar Forum (https://www.acousticguitarforum.com/forums/index.php)
-   General Acoustic Guitar Discussion (https://www.acousticguitarforum.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=24)
-   -   "warm" versus "twangy" sound? (https://www.acousticguitarforum.com/forums/showthread.php?t=413359)

Creative1 12-30-2015 02:57 PM

"warm" versus "twangy" sound?

I am a newbie, been practicing for about 1 1/2 years on a new Blueridge 143. Happy with the progress I am making. But I do have a question: I'm not sure I'm using correct verbiage here so bare with me...I have heard acoustics that sound very warm, not at all what I would call twangy. My 143 is a little twangy, not enough to give me buyer's remorse. My 143 is a 000 - I wonder if it does not sound as warm because of the size of the guitar versus say a dread, the type/weight of the strings, the difference in manufacture inherent to the brand, I believe it also needs a setup again and that may be contributing. How can I get a more warm sound out of my guitar? I'm not expecting miracles, I have what I have, what I could afford. I just need some advice/education on what is involved with the sounds I get compared to other guitars and what little I might be able to do to adjust. Also I find it interesting that I wonder what my guitar sounds like in front of it compared to what I think I am hearing from behind it as I play.

Nyghthawk 12-30-2015 03:10 PM

Strings

...make a BIG difference in how your guitar sounds. Try different brands. I have found that I prefer Elixer Polyweb 12-53's on my dred size Masterbilt. It gives it a warm, mellow sound.

ljguitar 12-30-2015 03:15 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Creative1 (Post 4769224)